email Notifications, att.net, SSL and port 465

• I am an experienced newbie at Linux stuff. Meaning, I can get around, have an idea of what can be done, not always sure how to do it. I choose to try OMV as a home file server since my Promise Tech box is limited to RAID0/RAID1 and to two 1TB drives. The Promise box has been problem free for over ten years except for the limitations and a hard drive failure.

Currently using a 16GB CF card/CFcard-to-IDE adapter as my boot drive and three 2TB hard drives in RAID5 running in/on an old Shuttle FS56 Pentium 4 box for testing. The main reasons for OMV is the web interface, using >1TB drives, more RAID options and email notifications. I really want the email notifications to work.

Got everything except the email notifications. My email is with ATT (on Yahoo account servers), which uses port 465 with SSL. I learned that port 465 is depreciated in postfix and doesn't work. From searching around, it seems several providers are still using 465. Port 587 is the 'right' way to connect according to what I have read. So let me call Yahoo and get them to upgrade their system. . . yeah, right!

I know there is a solution. I know I am not the only one on the planet with this problem. I know someone had to have solved it and explains how to do it on OMV! . . . Apparently, that last one is not true, or at least has not been posted where I have looked. So after reading several ways people had solved the problem for other situations not including OMV, plus some trial and errors, I got a working setup.

So, for all the other newbies, I post what I did in order to send OMV email notifications to att using port 465.

This was done on OPENMEDIAVAULT 1.7

Nutshell version: