Problem of Installing OMV with XBMC

• i was setting up my NAS with OMV and also tvheadend for TV streaming, i have a HD4850, wanna run XBMC to watch TV too, but after installing driver for the graphics cards, glxinfo is still unable to open display, XMBC said OpenGL is not working. i am a very beginner of Linux, and i was new to OMV, please help me for the problem. thanks a lot. sorry for my bad English.

• Thats probably something you should ask over at the XBMX/Kodi Forums. OpenMediaVault is based on Debian, so they should be able to help pretty easy over there.

Greetings
    David

"Well... lately this forum has become support for everything except omv" [...] "And is like someone is banning Google from their browsers"

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

Upload Logfile via WebGUI/CLI
    #openmediavault on freenode IRC | German & English | GMT+1
    Absolutely no Support via PM!

• Zitat von "ip4368"

i was setting up my NAS with OMV and also tvheadend for TV streaming, i have a HD4850, wanna run XBMC to watch TV too, but after installing driver for the graphics cards, glxinfo is still unable to open display, XMBC said OpenGL is not working. i am a very beginner of Linux, and i was new to OMV, please help me for the problem. thanks a lot. sorry for my bad English.

I'm about to start working on that myself. The hardest issue is the ATI drivers. Nvidia seems easier to install, but the only Nvidia card I have that I can use is a 9500GT which needs a pci audio card for the spdif header on it. My HD5670 is perfect for XBMC..

I'll keep you informed of my progress. Essentially I can get either of them installed, but combining the two is difficult because XBMC requires stuff from debian-testing, and of course OMV does not.

• Huh? XBMC requires stuff from testing? 13.x is in wheezy backports. ;)

PS: Have an ATI Card in my server as well and even I gave up to put XBMC onto it...

Greetings
    David